ARCHITECT

LOUVRE SCHOOL

SCHOOL OF HISTORIC MONUMENTS

ARCHITECT AT THE CHATEAU DE VERSAILLES

 

“It’s an encounter . . . a mutual pleasure . . . a love story. It’s nothing to do with chance”

An heir to the innate refinement of the enlightenment, François Joseph Graf is a flamboyant, humanist extravagant who has already enjoyed an extraordinary career: an architect, a powerful, recognized patron, a world-renowned interior decorator and designer and a scholarly aesthete who loves French luxury and lives art as a vocation, with generosity, rigour and talent.

 A towering representative of French style and its decorative art tradition and a fervent defender of our heritage and craft traditions, François Joseph Graf is a past master in designing settings of an incredible refinement, as may be seen in his outstanding abstract decor designs for the AD Interiors events since 2010.

He has a reputation as a purist and an extreme perfectionist, but this is not the full story.

François Joseph Graf is an architect of time, a past master in the art of creating invisible alchemies; he is an eternal traveller and world citizen, a man of absolute modernity who has constantly renewed his talents over the last 30 years by designing surroundings – some temporary – for people, their property and, sometimes, their beliefs.

 

 

Imaginative, whimsical, brilliant

François Joseph Graf’s work is, like the man himself, extraordinary, rooted both in history and in the most exacting standards of modernity. Over the last thirty years, the designer has created a stylistic expression that has taken him to the forefront of French style and has transcended the era by revealing its timelessness.

François Joseph Graf’s creations are governed by an unfailing rigour and the desire to turn decor not into a spectacle but the special receptacle of a life – the framework for constant reflection that never gets in the way of consistency between thought and action. For elegance, a true form of asceticism in this artist that is both innate and inherited, is above all a matter of moral standards.

As a result of the relevance of his aesthetic ambitions, François Joseph Graf has become one of the chosen few who help to define the taste of an era . . . our era.

François Joseph Graf

 

 

Architect and Interior Designer

Order, serenity, power

It was not by chance that François Joseph Graf began his career at the Château de Versailles (1981-1984), as his mentor was the head curator of the time, Pierre Verlet, whose first lesson to his pupil was to teach him to look in order to keep to the style and philosophy of each of the creations – because the architecture, furniture, objects and fabrics all shared the same taste.

François Joseph Graf’s style is, by definition, sharp and free, governed by a knowledge of history that enables him to find the right combinations, superimpositions and juxtapositions, always mastered and considered.

Admired for his balanced volumes, elegant details, magnificent materials and the ease with which he always feels at home, François Joseph Graf has decided to combine classicism and modernity in a symbiosis salutary for contemporary aesthetics, recreating a link with the tradition of taste.

 

 

A designer of furniture and objects

Exclusivity, inventiveness, elegance

 François Joseph Graf’s very nature is driven by a love of freedom, to the point of obsession. We should therefore not be surprised by the inventive, eclectic way in which he mixes ideas and styles.

François Joseph Graf knows better than anyone that you don’t move around in the same way in a loft apartment or a wood-panelled apartment. Similarly, it would be vain to limit oneself to old forms and lines that could easily be made modern. As a result, he designs furniture items, borrowing from different sources, that all show evidence of creativity, technical prowess and quality of execution.

As far as design is concerned, taste and boldness are an absolute necessity from the outset. François Joseph Graf lacks neither.

As for craftsmanship, he is familiar with the most precious thing he offers us. With the eye of a passionate amateur for whom the essential lies in the detail, he designs bags for women who have nothing to prove to the world apart from their love of the exclusive, unique and rare . . .

. . . Architecture is a passion for the period and its style.

Its history a pleasure, its expression a profession. This exacting vocation which requires rigour and receptiveness offers amateurs and collectors an attentive ear, a view, a programme and a precise project to help infuse their homes with the spirit of art, people and places.

We need to know how to tactfully preserve and restore the great listed decors in the uncluttered, noble style of our period, but also to create a new contemporary aesthetic that brings the historic masterpieces of French heritage into, the 21st Century.

For our pleasure . . .

ARCHITECTE

ECOLE DU LOUVRE

ECOLE DES MONUMENTS HISTORIQUES

ARCHITECTE AU CHÂTEAU DE VERSAILLES DE 1981 à 1984

 

« C’est une rencontre, un plaisir partagé, une histoire d’amour … Il n’y a pas de hasard. »

 

Héritier du siècle des lumières au raffinement inné, François Joseph GRAF est un prodigue humaniste et flamboyant à la carrière déjà extraordinaire : Architecte, mécène puissant et reconnu, décorateur d’intérieur et « créateur d’intérieurs » à la renommée mondiale, esthète érudit amoureux du luxe français, qui vit l’Art comme une vocation : avec générosité, rigueur et talent.
 
Signature magistrale du style français et de sa tradition des Arts décoratifs, fervent défenseur de notre patrimoine et de notre savoir faire artisanal, François Joseph GRAF est passé maître dans l’élaboration de scénographies au raffinement inouï, comme en témoignent ses créations exceptionnelles de décors abstraits pour les manifestations AD Intérieurs depuis 2010. 
 
L’homme a la réputation d’être un puriste, extrêmement perfectionniste, mais pas seulement.
 
Architecte du temps, passé maitre dans l’art de composer des alchimies invisibles,
François Joseph GRAF est un éternel voyageur citoyen du monde, d’une modernité absolue et qui ne cesse de se renouveler depuis 30 ans en concevant des écrins, parfois éphémères, pour abriter les hommes, leurs biens et parfois même leurs convictions.

 

 

Vif, fantasque, brillant

 
A l’image de l’homme, l’œuvre de François-Joseph Graf est hors norme, ancrée à la fois dans l’histoire et dans la plus exigeante des modernités. Depuis une trentaine d’années, le créateur élabore une grammaire stylistique qui se hausse au premier rang de l’esprit français et transcende l’époque en en révélant l’intemporalité.
 
Les réalisations de François-Joseph Graf, voyageur et chroniqueur subtil, sont régies par une rigueur infaillible et le désir de faire du décor non pas un spectacle mais le réceptacle privilégié d’une vie, le cadre d’une réflexion de chaque instant qui jamais n’entrave la cohérence entre pensée et action. Car, véritable ascèse chez cet artiste, l’élégance, qui est à la fois innée et fruit d’un héritage, est avant tout affaire de morale.
 
Par la pertinence de ses aspirations esthétiques, François-Joseph Graf compte parmi les rares élus qui participent à la définition du goût d’une époque. La nôtre.

 

 

ARCHITECTE DECORATEUR

Ordre, sérénité, puissance

 
Ce n’est pas un hasard si François-Joseph Graf a débuté sa carrière au château de Versailles (1981-1984), ayant pour mentor le conservateur en chef de l’époque, Pierre Verlet, dont le premier enseignement consista à lui apprendre à regarder afin de respecter l’esprit et la philosophie de chacune des créations – car un même goût circule entre l’architecture, les meubles, les objets ou les étoffes . . .
 
Le style chez François-Joseph Graf est par définition délié et libre, gouverné par une connaissance historique qui lui autorise de justes assemblages, surimpressions et juxtapositions, toujours maîtrisés et réfléchis.
 
Admiré pour l’équilibre de ses volumes, l’élégance de ses détails, la volupté de ses matériaux, l’aisance avec laquelle il se sent partout chez lui, François-Joseph Graf a décidé d’allier classicisme et modernité en une symbiose salutaire à l’esthétique contemporaine, renouant le fil de la tradition du goût.

 

 

DESIGNER CREATEUR DE MEUBLES ET D’ OBJETS

Exclusivité, inventivité, élégance

 
La nature même de François-Joseph Graf est animée du goût de la liberté, jusqu’à l’obsession. Aussi ne sera-t-on pas surpris par l’inventivité et l’éclectisme avec lesquels cet artiste brasse les idées et les styles.
 
Mieux que quiconque, François-Joseph Graf sait que l’on ne se meut pas de la même façon dans un loft ou dans un appartement lambrissé. De même qu’il serait vain de s’enfermer dans des formes anciennes ou dans des lignes qui se veulent modernes. Fort de ce constat, le designer conçoit des meubles aux emprunts divers qui partagent tous créativité, prouesse technique et qualité de l’exécution.
 
En matière de création, une nécessité s’impose d’emblée, celle, absolue, du goût et de l’audace. François-Joseph Graf ne manque ni de l’un, ni de l’autre.

Quant à l’artisanat, ce qu’il offre de plus précieux lui est familier. C’est donc en amateur passionné pour qui l’essentiel réside dans le détail qu’il crée des sacs destinés à ces femmes qui n’ont plus rien à prouver au monde si ce n’est leur attachement à ce qui est exclusif, unique et rare . . .

 

De l’époque et son style . . .

L’architecture est une passion.

Son histoire un plaisir, son expression un métier. Cette vocation exigeante qui demande rigueur et disponibilité permet d’offrir à l’amateur et au collectionneur une écoute, un regard, un programme et un projet précis afin de rendre à leurs demeures tout l’esprit de l’art, des Hommes et des lieux.

Des grands décors classés à l’architecture dépouillée et noble de notre époque, il faut savoir conserver et restaurer avec tact mais aussi, créer une nouvelle esthétique contemporaine , permettant ainsi de projeter dans le XXIème siècle les chefs d’œuvres historiques du patrimoine français.

Pour le plaisir . . .