“We consider craftsmanship to be one of the exemplary forms of human activity”

Simone de Beauvoir: “La Force de l’Âge”

François Joseph Graf is a fervent defender of French craftsmanship, which he has used with exemplary loyalty in each of his activities for over thirty years.

Maison Maleville, the world-famous cabinet-making firm, the DECLERCQ soft furnishings company and the Phelippeau tapestry firm (both recently awarded the “Living Heritage Enterprise [EPV] label), or, more recently, the Norma Desmond Studio, have carried out even the most incredibly ambitious of Mr. Graf’s projects with great skill and passion.

Exclusive architectural designs or special decorative features, production of unique pieces, most often made by hand using special techniques, always in France: this are the ethical principles inherent to craftsmanship as Mr. Graf sees it.

Physical skills that become the instrument of knowledge;, craftsmanship places the emphasis on the hand of man to produce unique, exemplary, rare and precious pieces.

Empirical knowledge, born from experience and practice, which needs time to mature and fully express itself; craftsmanship must be protected and developed in order to create true luxury objects, professionally made to survive man and be passed on to future generations.

François Joseph Graf’s idea of pure luxury: an original, unique creation, made with time and experience by a craftsman with a wealth of know-how, pure technique and talented skills. The imprint that this leaves behind turns an exemplary object into an outstanding luxury, unlike any other.

« Nous considérons l’artisanat comme une des formes exemplaires de l’activité humaine »

Simone de Beauvoir – « La force de l’âge »

François-Joseph GRAF est un fervent défenseur du « savoir-faire » artisanal français qu’il met à contribution dans chacune de ses activités, avec une fidélité exemplaire, depuis plus de trente ans.

la maison MALEVILLE, menuiserie d’art mondialement réputée, le passementier DECLERQ et le tapissier Phelippeau tous deux labellisés « EPV » ou, plus récemment, l’atelier Norma Desmond exécutent ainsi avec virtuosité et passion les projets les plus fous de Monsieur GRAF.

Créations architecturales exclusives ou éléments de décors particuliers, Réalisation de pièces uniques selon des techniques spécifiques , toujours en France. tels sont les principes éthiques inhérent au savoir faire artisanal tel que Monsieur Graf le conçoit.

Savoir de la pratique du corps qui devient l’instrument de la connaissance, le savoir faire privilégie la main de l’homme pour réaliser des pièces uniques et exemplaires, aussi rares que précieuses.

Savoir empirique, né de l’expérience et de la pratique, qui a besoin de temps pour murir et s’exprimer pleinement, le savoir faire artisanal doit être protégé et valorisé pour continuer de créer de vrais objets de luxe : Ceux fabriqués dans les règles de l’art pour survivre à l’homme et se transmettre aux générations futures.

Le luxe à l’état pur selon François –Joseph GRAF : création originale et unique, fabriquée avec le temps et l’expérience par un artisan au savoir-faire magistral, à la technique pure et au geste talentueux. L’empreinte ainsi laissée faisant d’un objet exemplaire un luxe exceptionnel, à nul autre pareil.